Life in Cameroon

[map id=”4″]

Kristel showed us pictures about education for deaf students in Cameroon.

1. As in Rwanda, families must pay to send children to school. Students only attend
school until the 6th grade! Then they are mainstreamed, go to vocational training, or stay home.

2. All children help their parents at home. This is learning skills for life.
It is not the same thing as child labor.

3. Cameroon is bilingual. One school for the deaf is French and one is English.

4. When Kristel returns to Cameroon, she will help deaf students in Cameroon. Her goal is for students in Cameroon to attend Gallaudet someday.

Rachel Chaikof
http://blog.rachelchaikof.com/peace-corps/

THIS IS FROM RACHEL’S BLOG-

…. my journey is to teach the Americans and other people around the world about a country of which they know so little and keep my family and friends updated on my whereabouts, I also hope that I can educate people about the potential that people with disabilities can offer to the world. While I have Usher Syndrome, a genetic condition that causes deafness and blindness, nothing keeps me from achieving my dreams!

WHAT ARE YOUR DREAMS!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *